↑ Return to Nursery

The Curriculum

Please click on the link to see our STEM Ambassadors Certificate.    STEM CERTIFICATE

The Early Years Foundation Stage Document is used to plan for children’s developmental and learning needs.  It has four themes which are: A Unique Child; Positive Relationships; Enabling Environments and Learning and Development.

There are seven areas of Learning and Development.

Three Prime Areas: Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language and Physical Development.

Four Specific Areas: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

Every morning the children take part in a phonics lesson.  These last for approximately half an hour during which the children work in small groups depending on which phase they are on.  We follow the RWI (Read, Write Inc) scheme for teaching phonics.  More details can be found on the RWI website by following the link:

RWI Programmes for Nursery Phonics

There is more information on the Governments advice on how to teach phonics at KS1 can be found on the following link:


We assess children by watching them.  Children are observed at play – a time when we take photos.  Watching what children are enjoying and what they are learning helps us to plan for their next steps.  This system means we can provide activities that we know children will choose to get involved in.

We could see that the girls were interested in singing and performing.  We made a Britain’s Got Talent box so that the children could plan little shows. In the box there were programmes and application forms for them to fill in.   This gave the children a purpose for writing as well as singing and dancing. It helped to make their play even more focused.



natural steroids